Dependecies Problem

Dear all,
I am new to Guild.ai
I have a train file called train.py that needs as input a parameter (using argparse) that is called config_filepath .
I am trying over and over to run:
guild run train.py config_filepath=config_thyroid_segnet_multi_h5.json

but nothing works. Everytime I get the following message:
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: ‘config_thyroid_segnet_multi_h5.json’

The funny part is that if I check in the runs directory (performing guild ls) the file is there. What am I doing wrong? I tried also to create a guild.yml file like following:
train.py:
description: Say hello to my friends
main: train
default: yes
flags-import:
- config_filepath

And alternatively to create a guild.yml with the tag requires.

Nothing works…

Thanks in advance for your support

Hello and welcome!

I’m guessing the file you’re looking for is being picked up as source code and is located under .guild/sourcecode under the run directory.

For example, I would expect this to not show the file:

guild ls

I would expect it to appear in this case:

guild ls --sourcecode

There are a number of ways you might address this:

1. Specify an absolute path to the config file rather than a relative path.
  2. Modify your script to look under .guild/sourcecode when it gets a relative path for this value.
  3. Modify the Guild file to store your source code under the run directory root.
  4. Modify the Guild file to make all possible config files available as a dependency.
  5. Get real fancy and use a flag reference in your dependency spec to resolve only the file needed.

Haha, sorry - that’s lot of approaches. Let me fill in each. You have an important question and the answers here are generally helpful.

Option 1 - absolute paths

This is a quick-and-dirty method that takes the relative path problem off the table. Use this to get things working ASAP. It’s not a good solution because it’s totally surprising and unintuitive.